Red Carpet Day:Forever Young

I am so pleased to welcome Morgan here today

RED CARPET DAY

MORGAN MANDEL

author of

FOREVER YOUNG

Fresh beginnings turn tragic when Dorrie Donato’s husband, Larry, is killed in a hit and run accident a few months after starting a new job at the Life is for Living Institute. Discouraged and desperate after  suffering countless setbacks, Dorie accepts an offer by  Larry’s boss, the famous Angel Man, to  be the first to test an experimental pill designed to spin its user back to a desired age and hold there, yet still retain all previous memories.  The pill seems too good to be true. Maybe it is.

Excerpt from Forever Young by Morgan Mandel

At Roman’s command, stage hands rolled down the shades over the windows and skylight. As the room darkened, a screen appeared. He clicked the projector’s remote. The first illustration, one of Dorrie’s before photos, flashed into relief. Roman trained his infrared pointer on portions of her anatomy. “Here you see a shot of our pioneer model, Dorrie Donato. Note a normal, somewhat attractive woman with typical aging factors, evidenced by a thickened waist, spider veins, wrinkles, loss of skin suppleness.”

Had she looked that horrid? Dorrie’s face grew hot. She glanced toward the doorway, wishing she could escape, but knowing it was impossible, even if she weren’t flanked by guards. More embarrassing photos followed the first. After what seemed an eternity, the lights flickered on, the blinds opened, and once again sunlight poured down.

Roman motioned to Dorrie. She stepped forward onto the stage. “Now, ladies and gentlemen, here’s the after.”

As instructed, Dorrie turned slowly. Then, with a flair, she loosened the kimono’s sash and handed the garment to Roman. She pirouetted gradually, revealing her supple body in the buttercup bikini, doing her best to ignore the “Oohs and Ahs” arising from the audience.

What parts of her did they stare at? She knew she looked better than before, but the sensation of being gaped at felt strange.

“Thank you, Dorrie,” Roman said, coming up behind her and sliding the kimono back over her shoulders. She tied the sash with trembling fingers.

Forever Young: Blessing or Curse is available on:

Kindle: http://tinyurl.com/6tsntn6

Smashwords: http://tinyurl.com/smashwords.com/books/view/115446

Soon coming to Nook and print.

Morgan’s blog: http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

Morgan’s website: http://www.morganmandel.com

Facebook: http://facebook.com/morgan.mandel

Twitter: http://twitter.com/morganmandel

Sounds like a good read not just for us older ones :)

Morgan has kindly agreed to do a guest post for us today

Wrinkles, Weight, Grey Hair, Spider and Varicose Veins – What Fun!

Wouldn’t it be marvelous to take a Fountain of Youth pill like the heroine in my book, and reverse the signs of aging? We can in some ways, depending on how far we want to go.

About those wrinkles – If I were a movie star, I’d probably get a face lift. Because I’m not, my family and friends would think it strange if I took such a drastic step.

Oh yes, that extra weight that didn’t used to be there – Well I do go to Fitness Classes  twice a week, plus walk my dog many times a day, depending on the weather. Even with that, the pounds cling and droop. I’m not as supple as I used to be, and admit to feeling stiff when I get up from a chair, or if I stoop to pick something up. All in all, even though I’m not a jogger, I do manage to get around pretty well.

About that grey hair – I fight it, but not as often as I could. Doing so would involve more money, more time and more aggravation than I wish to spend. When I absolutely can’t stand all that grey traipsing across my original brown, I break down and do something about it.

And the veins – Well, about ten years ago,  I did notice a proliferation of lines mapping their way across my legs. In an attempt to curb their spread,  I resorted to visiting my doctor. He did a Doppler ultrasound, determined nothing horrible was happening with my blood flow, and offered some sessions to eliminate those purple lines called spider veins. I endured the uncomfortable feelng of small needles being stuck in my legs, and the veins did disappear eventually.  I didn’t even try to get rid of the varicose ones since that procedure seemed even more complicated. More veins have since appeared, so I’ve decided to surrender  the battle and make peace with my legs.

Aging happens. I fight the good fight, but draw the line about going to extremes.  What about you? Have you tried to banish the signs of aging? Or, maybe you don’t need to yet ?  Please share.

About Morgan Mandel

Morgan Mandel is a former freelancer for the Daily Herald newspaper, prior president of Chicago-North RWA, prior Library Liaison for Midwest MWA, and belongs to Sisters in Crime and EPIC. She enjoys writing thrillers, mysteries, romances and also enjoys combining them. Her latest paranormal romantic thriller is Forever Young: Blessing or Curse, Book One of the Always Young Series, available on Kindle and Smashwords. Other novels by Morgan Mandel include the romantic suspense, Killer Career, the mystery, Two Wrongs, and the romantic comedy, Girl of My Dreams. Morgan is now working on Book Two of the Always Young Seres, called Blessing or Curse: A Forever Young Anthology, where readers will learn what happens to others who have taken the Forever Young pill.  One more book will follow bringing back the original heroine to close out the series.

Thank you very much Morgan I am sure we will enjoy reading Forever Young and from my point of view (and I’m sure many others ) pleased there will be one than one. Plenty of reading matter from Morgan so I hope some of you will have a look  see.

Dont forget to share how much you would do to turn back the clock!

One thought on “Red Carpet Day:Forever Young

  1. morganmandel says:

    Thanks for inviting me over to your blog, Alberta. It’s fun sharing the Fountain of Youth concept.

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morgansbooklinks.blogspot.com
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

