Help please with Parallelism! Alberta’s check in

I need some advice/help please.  For NaNo this year I had decided to write a creation story.  I have started experimenting on the form it will take, in a workshop, on World Building, I am doing.  Have tried both an old fashioned narrative form and verse form.

Now I don’t write poetry, this isn’t exactly poetry, but it will be sort of based on what I understand is ‘parallelism and repetition’.  Example from a book of Sumerian story of Inana

In the first days, in the very first days,

In the first nights, in the very first nights,

In the first years, in the very first years,

In the first days when everything needed was brought into being,

In the first days when everything needed was properly nourished,

(D.Wolkstein & S N Kramer: Inanna: Queen of Heaven and Earth)

Do any of you poets out there understand the form, have studied it or can recommend any books/sites on the form that I could research before NaNo. I like both the narrative and the verse and think I could combine the two.  I have many examples of narrative creation storytelling at home here but not of the verse form.  It is an ancient devise I believe, have read that ancient Hebrew and Sumerian texts often used the form, I think it will suit a creation story.  Anyone? Please.

This has been a week of no writing to speak of as we have been having a ‘writers block’ type of week with my sister.  Her training with new guide dog hit a sticky patch and three consecutive ‘bad’ days knocked not only her (bruises to show) but her confidence.  Very down she was and lot of ROW80 encouragement was needed.  The trainer and I spent a lot of time telling her it only needed tweaking- and between the three of us we have taken the red pencil to her old routes, streamlined them to remove as many potential hazards as possible, re- thought the length of time required and chopped the training into smaller chunks.  Reassured her on a couple of concerns causing extra anxietty, and, with Fridays training session being  almost flawless we finished the week exhausted but smiling:)

The problem is, as I have said before, she has no sight at all now (she did have some when she trained previously) but with being deaf as well, her orientation is very shaky – one step off the straight and she has the potential to be lost.  The retired dog of course knew the way and could help but this new one, although he tries so hard, doesn’t yet know the routes.  I knew it would be very hard this time but I’m not sure my sister realised how shaky her sense of location is.

Both of us were brought up understanding we could achieve anything we really wanted to do.  For the most part we have.  There comes a time though when we have to accept that age is robbing us of that ability.  I think my re-organising of life lately to accommodate my wrists has helped my sister to accept she can no longer walk wherever she wants any more.  We both have to come to terms with increasing restrictions. She is rested. Recovered from her bruises and ready to do another week. Fingers crossed for this coming week please.

I have managed to keep up with editing in the evenings – I had got muddled with NaNoEdMo- kept thinking had to edit 50,000 words but of course its edit for 50 hours – easy! Am well up at 30 hours this month so far.  However, while I have been doing so have had a major rethink of Blue Moon.  I have decided not to go for publication this year; I want to make it a denser book, with more character, more thought.  A slower paced story. More layered.  Very pleased with the new direction.  I still need to edit what has already been written, it will form a solid core.

Nothing much else done – been trying to keep up with the networking but apart from a quick rant on word police! and a  review not achieved any blogging.  Ah well there’s always another day:)

I hope everyone has had a good week.

4 thoughts on “Help please with Parallelism! Alberta’s check in

  1. It sounds like you are really holding it together for your sister, Alberta..you’re such a great sister!
    I don’t know if there is an official NaNoEdMo.. but I am editing this month (into next month) as well.
    I used to write poetry all the time.. now I get a spark and post something on Tumblr.
    Take care, Alberta. You are doing a wonderful job.

  2. Here’s to hoping your sister and her new dog guide make it through the training and transition with fewer bumps and bruises. What a tale! Do you still have the older retired dog? I wonder if he or she could help the new dog learn the routes. I’ve heard of people doing that.

    Slowing down for a week seems to have been beneficial for your novel, as now you’re considering deepening the complexity and layers. Sometimes what looks like a road bump turns out to be serendipity in disguise.

    Wish I could help you with the parallelism in the creation story, but I haven’t any advice to point you to.

  3. Sounds like you got the editing under control. Fingers are crossed for you, your sister and the new doggy. :)

  4. Shah Wharton says:

    I never heard of NaNoEdMo. Damn it. Ho hum. Sounds good too. I’m sorry you seem to feel a little jaded and beaten in some aspects, but cheered to see progress and acceptance in others. I do write poetry but to say I’m a studied poet would… make me giggle. Wish I could help. Sure someone will be along with the answer – if not Google it… its amazing what typing in a whole sentence brings me. Even if it’s not the actual answer I wanted, its usually due-opeing :) X

Leave a Reply

