It’s a B day today

I have fallen into a deep interest with bacteria – I know, I know, the old lady is finally loosing it – plot gone and maybe she ought not be allowed out on her own.  I have been astonished at their amazingness (sorry, is that a word?)  I keep an eye on news about them.  And for NaNoWrMo this year I am planning to write a novel about them!:)  Pick yourself up of the floor – I’m sure it will not be a run away best seller but I really want to do it and I am going to have a go.

Some of the reasons why I am fascinated by them are on kiss a frog, but here I am discussing words.

Bacteria have no nucleus; their DNA is just mished up in their cell.

Bacteria: Modern Latin bacteria from Greek bakterion dim. of bakteri = staff

Bacteria is also a prokaryote:  which means ‘before a kernel’

And of course Kernel is a delicious sounding name in itself.

Kernel: Old English dim. of corn seed

     A seed

     Rounded swelling in any part of the body esp. enlarged lymph glands

     Seed of husk of grain

     Granule as in sand, salt

     The nucleus, core, centre of something

     Essential part, gist of a narrative

     Basis of a system

No extraordinary side stepping there, but isn’t the sound of Kernel lovely? Or is just me:)?  And Old English! –What I like is the fact that I can use Kernel today and someone centuries ago was also using it.  I love the connections through the ages,  all those life changes, extraordinary events and still Kernel remains!

see what it is about Bacteria!

Shorter Oxford English Dictionary

7 thoughts on “It’s a B day today

  1. […] have also read and commented on a B post about bacteria, written by the always intriguing Alberta Ross.  Shared this one on my Writer Page, as […]

  2. I needed help from professionals in the business to develop a virus in my book, It turned out great because of their guidance. Good luck to you!

  3. marianallen says:

    Glad to meet a fellow word-maker-upper — and somebody else who says “mished”! :)

    Sometimes — like when I have a cold — I suspect that humans only exist as a way for bacteria to get around!!

  4. Helen Ginger says:

    A thriller, no doubt!

  5. rebeccaemin says:

    I’ve always been interested in science, so I’m intrigued to read your bacteria book :o)

  6. shanjeniah says:

    Ooh – I learned stuff here today. Nifty stuff to add to my currently simmering stew of thought.

    I recently finished the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (The woman the prolific HeLa cell line came from).

    Germs and cells and DNA have been trying to formulate the basis of my 2012 NaNo novel, too……

Leave a Reply

