Helen Ginger, Corner Cafe and Red Carpets

I am very pleased to welcome Helen Ginger here today.  Helen is a member of a group I belong to, up here on cyberspace.  Over the past three months I have watched a smaller group of fellow members, in fascination, as they decided to write and publish a collection of short stories together.  To achieve this they collectively learnt the formatting necessary for Kindle and the shenanigans  publishers have to engage in to self publicise their books:)  All through e-mail communications.  Impressive. Especially as  the stories are all original, written specifically  for this particular book, the authors had free reign as to subject matter with the proviso they had to connect in some way with The Corner Cafe.  The book has turned out to be a great read.  So here on the Red Carpet today is

 Helen Ginger


author of Angel Sometimes

Joining Forces

 The month of June has been a crazy time. Alberta knows what I’m talking about. We’re both members of a group called Blog Book Tours. I believe there are close to a hundred members. Months back, we began a project to create an anthology of short stories and publish it on Amazon for the Kindle. It went live at the end of May, so this month is filled with promotions and blog posts across the world. Some days the book will cost 99 cents. Some days it will be free. Even if you download it on a non-free day, you won’t feel cheated since all proceeds go to charity.

 I’m happy to say I have two stories in The Corner Café. One’s short and one’s a bit longer. Here are the loglines for them:

 Neree, who parked her beat-up truck, Gila Monster, in the senior parking lot, hopes to find it still there at the end of school, but what she finds is an unexpected possibility, in Gila Monster by Helen Ginger.

When a couple ski a black diamond run in a blizzard, the truth of what happened is in the blood, in One Last Run by Helen Ginger.

 The Blog Book Tour was able to create, edit, publish and promote The Corner Café because we all joined forces.

“The Corner Café

In addition to promoting the anthology, I’m working to get the word out about my first fiction book. (I have three non-fiction books out with TSTC Publishing.) Angel Sometimes is a women’s fiction book. Writers tend to put a little of themselves in whatever they write. I put more than just a little of myself in Angel Sometimes. Angel’s life is not mine, but her job is. She swims as a mermaid in a bar/restaurant called The Aquarium. For three years, I swam as a mermaid at a resort/park called Aquarena Springs. So, most of what Angel does while in the tank — eating and drinking underwater, blowing air rings, doing backward flips and spinning dervishes, for example — were taken directly from my life.

Angel Sometimes

Angel Sometimes has a plan: Go home to Oklahoma and ask her mother why she loved her one day, then threw her out like garbage the next. Since her mother was never going to come looking for her, she’ll go to her mother. To do that, she needs three things: her high school diploma, a car and a gun.

I wrote Angel Sometimes on my own, but even then, I joined forces. I have a friend who lives in another town about an hour and a half away. Her book, The Dividing Season, came out about two months ago. When I had questions about publishing in print or Karen had questions about marketing, we would meet halfway. One time we even checked into a hotel mid-way and invited another author to join us in the hotel’s boardroom for strategizing. We joined forces and both of us are better off for that.

Have you ever joined forces with other writers?

Alberta comments: I’m thinking that Angel Sometimes sounds like a good read.  The Corner Cafe certainly  is and I’m off to check out some of the other links:)

  Helen Ginger

Helen has written 3 books in TSTC Publishing’s TechCareers series, as well as the above mentioned. You can find two of her short stories in the anthology, The Corner Café. Her free ezine, Doing It Write, now in its thirteenth year of publication, goes out to subscribers around the globe.

 You can follow Helen on her blog, Straight From Hel on Twitter or connect with her on Facebook and LinkedIn. She is also Co-Partner and Webmistress for Legends In Our Own Minds® and the Coordinator of Story Circle Network’s Editorial Services.

18 thoughts on “Helen Ginger, Corner Cafe and Red Carpets

  1. Julie Glover says:

    Looks great! (I LOVE that Corner Cafe cover, by the way.) Thanks for the heads-up! And congrats to Helen.

  2. Red Tash says:

    I love mermaids!

  3. silferts says:

    Angel Sometimes goes well with blackberry mochas, I’ve discovered.

  4. I read Giha monster. There were a few of those in my high school parking lot. Great story. and I’ll Tweet to that!

  5. S.B.Lerner says:

    Helen, what an interesting story about your life as a mermaid. Not many people can say that. I hope that someday I’ll have a chance to travel the country and meet you and Karen in person!

  6. Helen Ginger says:

    Maryann, I do enjoy the times my friends and I get together to talk books and writing and share information and ideas. In this age of sitting in your office looking at a computer screen, there’s something special about a back and forth talk and sharing of information that is so helpful.

  7. Dani G. says:

    Helen, I hope the Corner Cafe project boosts sales on your new book, too! It was kind of my hope that by giving readers a sampling of many writing styles with the Corner Cafe collection, and demonstrating unique voices and imaginations, people would want to read longer works. I think readers are enjoying the short story collection. Fingers crossed they’ll be inspired to buy other books.

  8. What a nice idea to meet with friends like you did to share ideas about publishing and marketing. We do that a lot in cyberspace, but I think a whole day and evening brainstorming with two friends would be awesome.

  9. Kathy says:

    I downloaded The Corner Cafe last week and am enjoying the stories. Helen’s “One Last Run” is a study in making every word count.

  10. marianallen says:

    Is that Mammoth Cave?

    Lovely blog, Alberta, and thanks for hosting Helen. Every cafe needs a resident mermaid, you know! :)

    • alberta says:

      It is cool having a mermaid over to visit – one of the things I love about this life, how many people have interesting lives – that can never be guessed from first meeetings – the quite man who builds a faithful replica of Buckingham Palace out of spent matchsticks to mermaids eating under water! Not just so interesting but also showing us that everywhere one goes there are the seeds of stories waiting to be discovered:)

      • Helen Ginger says:

        That’s so true, Alberta. I bet everyone could look at their lives and write a compelling story about themselves or something that happened to them.

    • Helen Ginger says:

      I was thinking maybe it was Carlsbad.

  11. Helen Ginger says:

    Hi Alberta, you have such a cool blog! Love that pic at the top. Thank you so much for having me over.

    • alberta says:

      Helen, it was a pleasure. I have watched in fasination as you have all worked co-operatively and pulled this whole project together – well done and all the best:)

Leave a Reply

