Prophecy of the Flame: Red Carpet Day

RED CARPET DAY

Lynn Hardy

Author of

Prophecy of the Flame

In a blinding flash of light, five strangers are yanked from this world and thrust into a land of sorcery as they are granted the looks and abilities of the people they were playing. This band of wannabe heroes soon discovers that having the powers they have always wanted, does not make life a dream come true. The Crusaders of the Light struggle to form a cohesive band as they blend twentieth century technology with the supernatural powers of this new world, fighting to liberate the kingdom of Cuthburan from the evil horde threatening humanity.

Battle is also waged within Reba, an ordinary housewife who has become the most powerful mage on the planet, as she struggles to remain true to her wedding vows. Drawn against her will to the arms of Prince Alexandros, Reba must choose marriage to a handsome prince in a magical world or returning to the husband she left behind.

Lynn Hardy has agreed to be interviewed here on the Red Carpet, today we will discuss her book however, she tells me she has just inherited a publishing house so I am hoping she will come back and tell us a bit about how that came about, another time.

1.    Hi there Lynn, so nice to have you here.  Can you give us an introduction to who you are?

Sure, I am Lynn Hardy, author of the Prophecy of the Flame series. I’m a stay-at-home mother of two little girls. I live in Boise, Idaho –and, yes, we grow potatoes there… lol.

2.     Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I’ve loved writing since I was in high school. In college, I majored in Journalism. One of my professors told me, “You don’t seem to have the ability to catch your own typos. No editor will ever hire you. You should change your major. (This was back before the days of Microsoft Word)

I was pretty tender-hearted, so I did what the teacher suggested. Without writing, college lost its appeal. When I dropped out because I caught walking pneumonia, I stayed out to support my husband through his senior year.

3.     It sounds like you had a rough start. What or who or inspired you to write your books?

As newlyweds, my husband Tony and I went through marriage counseling. Christine asked me to write my autobiography starting with my earliest memories with as much detail as I could manage. Working full time, I would come in for my appointment, twice a week, an hand her ten pages, single-spaced, typed.

A few months later, Christine told me, “I’ve asked my patients to write for me, for over 20 years. This is the first time I want to sit down with a cup of tea and see what happens next. You have a way of bringing a story to life. Have you ever considered something in that field of work.”

4.    A great morale boost:) Where do you get your book plot ideas from? What/Who is your inspiration?

A few months after we finished the counseling, I had this amazing set of dreams. I noticed that you could extend the story, swap the order, and create a beautiful story. Some nights I would wake up laughing, other, crying. It was so captivating that I knew it had to be written.

I kept thinking about what author I should send it to: It had romance, maybe Melanie Rawn. But it was definitely fantasy, with magic, swords, elves, and even dwarfs, so perhaps Terry Brooks. And it’s got a definite streak of humor, so maybe Piers Anthony would be best. But Christine’s words kept ringing in my ears.

I sat down at my computer and created a file, “Second Job.” With no further ado, I began the journey of a writer.

5.     Do you have a favourite character from your books? and why are they your favourite?

It has been pointed out that my books may be a bit of a Mary Sue. I had no idea what that was, but finally a forum pointed out that a Mary Sue is a book where the main character is a reflection of the author, only everything the author wishes they were. Twilight is said to be the biggest Mary Sue of this age.

The main character is a common housewife who is dragged to a hotel by her husband for their anniversary. She goes along with “surprise” her husband orchestrated, even though running around a hotel with a bunch of strangers, pretending to defend it, isn’t her idea of a fun weekend. As the end their first round, the game players are zapped into a magical world and change into the character they are playing. So, Rebecca, becomes her ideal heroine, Reba,

It stands to reason that she has a few Mary Sue traits: She is super powerful – although her companions seem to have to rescue her quite a bit. She’s beautiful – wanted by several men. But she isn’t my favorite character.

Prince Szames seems to have it all. He’s tall, blond, and hunky. But the life of the second born isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. He is the knight in shining armor we all dream of. He’s the kind, compassionate, patient man we all hope to marry. He is my favorite character.

6.    I have never heard that expression before.  Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?

I chose to self-publish. That journey is a story in its self. Over the last several years, I’ve developed a system to help others avoid the potholes and detours that keep self-pushed authors from shining as brightly as the traditional ones.

Thank you very much Lynn for your time here today and i hope to hear about your publishing adventures soon.  May I wish you all the best in the future.

Lynn Hardy

Led by a series of dreams and encouraged by friends, she began the journey to become an author. Lynn stored her work in a computer file labeled “second job.” Writing began as a passion she could not contain and has become much more than she ever expected.

Prophecy of the Flame – Book One became #1 on Amazon Kindle in 2010, shortly after Book Two released. There has been talk of a movie: Lynn finished the screenplay for Book One in 2012.

Lynn Hardy claims to be just your average stay-at-home mother of two. The road has been longer and more complicated than she would have ever guessed–not always smooth, but filled with wonderful surprises. Like most stories, I am sure that the journey has only just begun for this aspiring author.

Next week : a taster of her publishing venture

Borderline Publishing now has over 30 authors – we are starting to get national recognition. A couple of our authors have been picked up by Barnes and Noble – one of the largest bookstores in the nation.  Our webpage is a bit of a mess – now that Ingram and Barnes & Noble are secure, it is high on my priority list.

Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ProphecyOfTheFlame

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ArchMageReba

Blog: http://lynnhardy.blogspot.com/

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Prophecy-Flame-Book-One-ebook/dp/B004KKXSNC/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2

Leave a Reply

