Virginia Jennings author of The Alien Minds

Virginia Jennings on the Red Carpet today with a guest post on how she came to write science fiction.

RED CARPET

Virginia Jennings

author of

Alien Minds

            In The Alien Mind, Young Rivinaig shares her adventures and trials that began on that fateful day when a group of aliens called the Aruk abducted her and several other children. Another group of aliens called the Aunantet rescue the children and raise them as their own. Their new families teach them how to harness the full capacities of their brains, enabling them to defy the laws of physics and develop special mental abilities.

The past returns to haunt them as the Aruk plot revenge and make a bid to regain their control; the fate of the entire galaxy depends on whether the children can maintain their freedom.

Virginia is taking her book on tour this month, you can find links to the rest of her tour below

BOOK TOUR LINK: http://bit.ly/ReuIQT

Virginia is also running a rafflecopter for a free e-book copy of The Alien Mind – do not forget to enter, link below

Book Tour giveaway link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f41ce30/

So over to Virginia:)

The world of science fiction is a world of endless possibilities, as well as a world full of things that have been done many times before. Finding a unique topic to write about or a unique twist to put on an old subject is often the main challenge of a science fiction writer. I started writing science fiction when I was 13 because I wanted to travel to other planets and explore new worlds.

My writing really took off once I started home school in 7th grade. Besides the regular curriculum, I suddenly had the time to dig into extra subjects that interested me. When the Enterprise seasons of Star Trek came out, I became made interested in researching different theories of space travel. I collected articles about new ship designs and watched the live coverage of the rovers on mars. Still hungry for new ideas, and running into a rut with the story that would later be called ’Visionary From The Stars’, I decided to check out a few books on quantum physics theory from the library.

What really intrigued me were explanations of the different theories of what a fourth dimension might be like. A piece of paper is a two dimensional object, a piece of paper folded into a cube was a three dimensional object. When you unfold that cube you get a bunch of boxes all connected at their sides. With that reasoning, an unfolded fourth dimensional shape would be the same way, just with cubes instead of a flat piece of paper.

If the fourth dimensional object was unfolded in our level of existence and we could fold it back together than it would cease to be in our existence much like a stick figure coming to life and walking off a piece of paper. If we could somehow stick someone inside of that object we were going to fold then we could get him or her into the fourth dimension and out again! What I didn’t have the answer to was HOW we would manage to fold something that big?

Another thing that interested me was the theory that humans only use 10% of our brains at any given time. I wondered what we could do if we used all of our brain at the same time. Could we figure out how to fold objects into another dimension? Could we travel through space and time? Could we defy the known laws of physics? It was then that ‘The Alien Mind’ was born, and the energy that I picked up from finishing that book inspired me to take another look at what would later turn into Visionary from the Stars.

These books both have aliens in them, strange new planets and worlds with endless possibilities waiting around every corner. Once I started working on a story, I never wanted it to end. I would restart the story from the beginning just to have my characters re-live their lives in alternate ways. I knew I would never be satisfied enough to let my stories to end so I always had to leave openings for possible continuations. The numerous amounts of times my characters re lived alternate lives is what gave me the material I needed to write complex worlds that I knew I would still be able to go to for fun even after the original story ended.

I would lay awake for hours each night thinking about these characters and the worlds they lived in. What would a different world look like? If this new world were different from earth what else would need to be changed to make it believable? Could I have new characters grow out of this world? Could this world support life?

That was a THE big question, one that made me stop and really define my belief system. I am a Christian, and as such, I was taught that God created the heaven and earth as well as humans. However, nowhere in the bible does it suggest that there is life on other planets, or that humans can use our minds any differently than we do now. Without aliens, I could not see the point of exploring a galaxy full of nothing, and without being able to fold into the fourth dimension to get there; I was, once again, back at square one for story ideas. So I asked my father what he thought. The best answer he had for me was that the bible didn’t mention people being able to fly around in airplanes either.

My conclusion was this, “Who are we to place boundaries on God by saying that something just can’t happen? Who are we to claim that we can’t manipulate matter with our minds? Who are we to claim that life can’t be on other planets? Who are we to claim that space can’t be folded for one-dimensional travel?” I believe anything could be possible. Just because it could be does not mean that it really is, but all of those could be’s are what keep me inspired to write!

Alberta: thank you Virginia for a very interesting post.  I have invited Virginia back next week for a short interview based largly on aspects she has brought up in this post – so be sure to come back next Thursday for more of Virginia andThe Alien Mind and do not forget to enter the raffle.

Title: The Alien Mind                                                          Author: Virginia Lori Jennings

Category: Science Fiction                                                  ISBN # 978-1480111561

2nd Edition Published: October 2012                         Pages:272

Format: Paperback and E-book                        Price: 12.99 (paper)  2.99(E-book)

Where to find the book:

Barnes and Noble (Nook): http://bit.ly/WzH8rA

Amazon.com (paperback): http://amzn.to/RgtpQX

Amazon.com (kindle): http://amzn.to/RNHPHD

For all other readers visit smashwords at: http://bit.ly/TGYL2s

About the Author

Virginia Jennings lives in South Carolina with her husband, three kids, and two cats. She graduated from High School at 16 and was published by the time she turned 18. She is the author of two science fiction books and has plans in the works for two fantasy books as well. Her ideal evening is spent watching Star Trek or Eureka with her family over dinner. She enjoys playing putt putt and watching the latest sci-fi or action adventure movie. She does most of her best writing in the car as her characters prefer to talk to her while she is driving. Finding time to write down what they tell her- now that is where the real challenge is! When she is not hanging out with her family or writing she also runs the ‘Where Writers And Authors Meet’ writers group online at

www.wherewritersandauthorsmeet.webs.com

or

www.facebook.com/groups/wherewritersandauthorsmeet

Authors Website: www.virginiajennings.webs.com

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorVirginiaJennings

On Goodreads

On Shelfari: http://www.shelfari.com/authors/a2479890/Virginia-L-Jennings/

On Amazon: http://amzn.to/RLoyH9

3 thoughts on “Virginia Jennings author of The Alien Minds

  1. […] Guest post on Alberta Ross’s Blog https://albertaross.wordpress.com . I will be writing about writing sci-fi – research inspirations and my view on life in the […]

    • alberta says:

      yes stranded is the word – have replaced now – nice drive but needs a lot of looking things up in manual – cars have changed a great deal in eight years:)

  2. denizb33 says:

    Very interesting post, Virginia. Congratulations on your book!

Leave a Reply

