The Alien Mind: Red Carpet interview

We welcome Virginia Jennings back again this week for an interview on some of her views on Aliens:)

RED CARPET DAY

VIRGINIA JENNINGS

AUTHOR OF

THE ALIEN MIND

      In The Alien Mind, Young Rivinaig shares her adventures and trials that began on that fateful day when a group of aliens called the Aruk abducted her and several other children. Another group of aliens called the Aunantet rescue the children and raise them as their own. Their new families teach them how to harness the full capacities of their brains, enabling them to defy the laws of physics and develop special mental abilities.

The past returns to haunt them as the Aruk plot revenge and make a bid to regain their control; the fate of the entire galaxy depends on whether the children can maintain their freedom.

Virginia is taking her book on tour this month, you can find links to the rest of her tour below

BOOK TOUR LINK: http://bit.ly/ReuIQT

Virginia is also running a rafflecopter for a free e-book copy of The Alien Mind – do not forget to enter, link below

Book Tour giveaway link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f41ce30/

(details of her book, where it can be purchased and entry to the rafflecopter will be found at the end of the interview)

Virginia welcome back.  I did so enjoy your guest post last week; it is always interesting to find out what brings writers to their particular love.  Although I am interested in science and follow many strands as they develop I am afraid my mind finds it difficult to get to grips with the like of quantum physics and as for dimensions  well – I have to sit on a bench and wave good-bye as you race past:)

Virginia:  Thank you for having me, and for asking such interesting and thought provoking questions! Incidentally, I know how you feel about quantum physics, I feel like that when my husband does advanced math in his head!

I normally try not to drown the reader in the science behind it all. While I did research some pretty out of the box ideas while preparing to write the book, I also did my best to keep away from any complicated jargon in the book that would be lost on middle grade readers.

Q  Now, The Alien Mind is being toured in its new 2nd edition, are there many or substantial changes in this edition?

Virginia:   Yes and no. The story itself is pretty much the same.  I went through and did a total line by line edit of the entire book, tying up loose ends, fixing grammar issues that weren’t caught by my first editor (back in 2005), and pretty much just polished up the whole manuscript. I also rewrote and extend a few scenes, and changed the entire ending, and even set it up for the possibility of a sequel.

I also took the time to illustrate the cover and the top of each chapter. It was while I was reading my story to my husband that he requested that I draw a picture of Ankh because he wanted to see what the aliens looked like. From his and my kids encouragement, I took the opportunity to really dig deep into my imagination to show my readers, through illustration,exactly how I envisioned certain characters and scenes.

Q   I have been fascinated for many years in this idea that we under-use our brains.  One part of me wish we could harness the whole power but a much more cautious part of me looks back on our (mankind) history and remains thankful that we do not! 

 Would you like to see our brains better harnessed in reality and do you think we are, in fact, fit to have the power?

Virginia:  That is one thing I tried to touch on in, The Alien Mind. The Aruk are a separatist faction of the Aunantet, same species… just different viewpoints. The Aruk believe that they should be worshipped as Gods because of the power that they have. The Aunantet are a peaceful, cooperative, and custodial people. I believe these two different groups parallel human nature in that all of us have the ability to become both Aruk-like as well as Aunantet-like.

I’m not sure that many of us could handle that amount of great power and responsibility well at all. However, that is also like saying that we should discontinue cars simply because there are people who choose not to drive safely. I prefer to hope that if we ever did get to that level of development that there would be rules and guidelines to protect the innocent and reign in those who choose to be unruly just like we discipline those who continue to drive reckless.

On that note, I don’t think we could ever really do what the characters in my book do. But I do believe that each of us do have more potential in ourselves than we realize. That is mainly what I was trying to inspire from the book, is the desire to grow and reach for even our wildest dreams.

Q  Am I right in thinking you write science fiction because the possibilities and opportunities intrigue and excite you?

Virginia: Heck yeah! Though it is not just science fiction that I find that excitement, but I don’t want to get ahead of you… (see next question)

Q :)   Is the excitement for the plot lines or the thought of the changes that may be ahead for us all?

Virginia: The excitement for me lies in all of it! I am excited by the changes that are waiting in our future. BUT, my excitement spills over into anything I write as well, science fiction or otherwise. I am excited by the ability to go anywhere and try all sorts of things I could never do in real life. To be any type of character while also exploring different facets of human interaction. It also excites me to be able to inspire others and empower others to think about things a little differently each time they read a new story.

Q   This is a question I find myself increasingly asking myself over a range of human endeavour, I am not sure if it is my age! Or because I am a cynic of a high degree:)   

 Do you think, considering our track record in dealing with ‘other-ness’, that finding other life in the universe could turn into a disaster of epic proportions?

Virginia: I think that humans have such a problem with ‘other-ness’ because we have set ideas in our minds of how ‘humans’ should look like and/or act. We don’t, however, have an issue with the fact that cats, or bears are different from us. Perhaps this stems from the fact that we feel superior to animals. In that case how would we react if the aliens we met were vastly superior to us? I think we would lash out in fear, like we have in so many other science fiction movies, in an effort to regain control over our situation. If the aliens we met were closer to our level of advancement, or if we were even slightly more advance then they were… hmm, perhaps things would work a little smoother.

However, there are many of us on this earth that whole heartedly believe that aliens can’t possibly exist. There may be a greater possibility of mass hysteria ensuing on our end rather than a disastrous war because we want the aliens to behave or look like we do. I also think it depends on the number of aliens that we meet all at once. One strange girl arriving on our planet may raise eyebrows for sure, while a couple dozen superior aliens arriving in huge ships might make us worry about a hostile take over- no matter what their intent might be.

Thank you very much indeed Virgina for some of your thoughts on the tricky aspects of alien life and of course news of the updates of your book.  I like the idea of illustrating each chapter heading, I suspect that was more fiddly than line by line editing:)

BOOK TOUR LINK: http://bit.ly/ReuIQT

Virginia is also running a rafflecopter for a free e-book copy of The Alien Mind – do not forget to enter, link below

BOOK TOUR GIVEAWAY LINK:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f41ce30/

About the Author

Virginia Jennings lives in South Carolina with her husband, three kids, and two cats. She graduated from High School at 16 and was published by the time she turned 18. She is the author of two science fiction books and has plans in the works for two fantasy books as well. Her ideal evening is spent watching Star Trek or Eureka with her family over dinner. She enjoys playing putt putt and watching the latest sci-fi or action adventure movie. She does most of her best writing in the car as her characters prefer to talk to her while she is driving. Finding time to write down what they tell her- now that is where the real challenge is! When she is not hanging out with her family or writing she also runs the ‘Where Writers And Authors Meet’ writers group online at www.wherewritersandauthorsmeet.webs.com or www.facebook.com/groups/wherewritersandauthorsmeet

Title: The Alien Mind                                                          Author: Virginia Lori Jennings

Category: Science Fiction                                                  ISBN # 978-1480111561

2nd Edition Published: October 2012                         Pages:272

Format: Paperback and E-book                        Price: 12.99 (paper)  2.99(E-book)

Where to find the book:

Barnes and Noble (Nook): http://bit.ly/WzH8rA

Amazon.com (paperback): http://amzn.to/RgtpQX

Amazon.com (kindle): http://amzn.to/RNHPHD

For all other readers visit smashwords at: http://bit.ly/TGYL2s

7 thoughts on “The Alien Mind: Red Carpet interview

  1. […] ← The Alien Mind: Red Carpet interview […]

  2. Jo Linsdell says:

    Awesome interview ladies. Very thought provoking. All the best with your tour Virginina.

  3. Thank you for having me on your blog Alberta! I really enjoyed answering your questions!

Leave a Reply

