Dark Expectations book tour and give away

I am welcoming Janiera Eldridge onto the Red Carpet today – to spotlight her Dark Expectations. Janiera is on a book tour read more abouther and the book at the end of the interveiw. There is a give away code also.

RED CARPET DAY

Red carpet at night.

JANIERA ELDRIGE

AUTHOR OF

DARK EXPECTATIONS

Dark Expectations 7

With Ani taking her place as queen, there are some enemies lurking she could never imagine! There’s a secret compound in California that wants to know the secrets to making a vampire or werewolf. When they kidnap Ani during a trip back to California they might actually get what they want. Her sister Dana, her lover Diego and other vampires do everything they can to get her back. If they don’t succeed, they face being controlled completely by the human race forever! Dark Expectations is the exciting sequel to Soul Sisters that’s full of adventure, danger and what it means to be queen!

Alberta:  It certainly sound exciting!It is great to have you here Janiera, now for a few questions. 

As an author of a series I am always fascinated in how others manage this.  Did you find writing a second difficult in any way? (if yes in what way?) (if no do you think a third, which I understand is planned, will be?)

Janiera:  I really loved writing the second book because I was so much more comfortable with the characters and the world I created. Writing the second book wasn’t hard; now the third book was another story. It’s been a little hard for me to write because I want it to be the perfect ending and make everyone happy. However, I know that is not possible so i’m just trying to create an ending I’m happy with.

  Alberta: The first book in the series, Soul Sisters, is very different from the normal stories in this genre in that the focus and central theme is the strong sister bond of love and loyalty.  The whole tale is about this.  In this, the second, is this again the central theme at its heart?

 Janiera:  In a way , yes. I don’t want to  give away too much but the story is very much about bond of sisters and the bond of lovers.

 Alberta:  In this book does the action switch between worlds and time in the same way as the first?  If not how has the structure changed?

Janiera:  This book doesn’t switch between worlds and time frames like the first book. I was happy people liked that type of story telling. Dark Expectations starts at the end of the story and goes backwards. It also splits into two different stories in the middle of the book. I’m hoping people like this type of storytelling as well; it was really fun to write.

 Alberta:  I like it when an author experiments a bit with structure – and I know from experience it is quite fun to do:)

  What is the main conflict driving this story? And are there any secondary conflicts?  Of course without spoilers:)

Janiera:  It’s impossible for me to answer this question without spoilers. The conflict is really juicy. There is secondary drama but one huge, nasty conflict!

 Alberta:  Fair enough.  That’s enough to make us want to know more.

  Can the new reader enjoy this story as a stand alone or is it necessary to read them in order?

Janiera:  I think readers can read Dark Expectations without reading Soul Sisters. However, if they want more background about the sisters(including how they are…the way they are) they should totally read book 1! Soul Sisters  has a lot of the stories base in it so hopefully people will be curious enough to go back to book 1.

   Alberta:  Before we finish here can we find out a little about yourself please.  Do you have any distinct music preferences?

 Janiera:  I love so many types of music. I love everyone from Toni Braxton to Alanis Morrisette. The only things I don’t listen to are rock and country. Other than that, I listen to whatever the mood calls for.

 Alberta: Many authors write to a soundtrack I wonder if you do also and if so what helps inspire creativity?

Janiera:  I do not have sound track at all. I know, I sound really lame. I put the TV on in the background while  I write so that my thoughts don’t wander too much. Music is way too distracting to me while I write.  I want to sing a long, it just ends so badly. I’m a ferocious reader and movie lover so those are the places I get my inspiration from the most!

 Alberta:  Not lame at all:) each to one’s own and I am sure there are many others out there who are the same.

 Do you have favourite authors and if so maybe you could share some with us and your reasons why they appeal so much to you?

Janiera:  Stephanie Meyers is one of my favorites. I don’t care what anyone has to say about her writing; she made me love reading again when I thought I had no time for it. She made me want to write a story that moves someone the same way Twilight moved me. My other favorite authors include Dean Koontz, Stephen King and Christopher Pike. They are the masters of horror and suspense and that is my favorite genre to read and write! Their books keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time and there’s nothing better than that feeling when  reading a book.

Alberta:  I agree about the feeling when reading. Anyone who inspires a love and a passion for reading possesses something special.  I frequently have this argument with people.

 Apart from writing and reading do you have any other interests or pastimes you could share with us?

Janiera:  I’m such a boring person, these are my first and only loves. Although I do have an addiction of watching documentaries on Netflix for inspiration.

Alberta:  There are many who would champion your loves – Reading in particular has dominated my life since the day I could read and I go back a long, long time:) and I don’t watch much other than documentaries on TV (except Dr Who of course!) They are a brilliant way to keep an eye on the world.

 Thank you so much for coming over today to talk to us.  I hope you enjoyed yourself, and all the best with Dark Expectations.

Title: Dark Expectations (Book 2 in the Soul Sisters Trilogy)

blog tour banner2

Author: Janiera Eldridge

Release Day: October 31, 2012

Purchase at:

Amazon (Paperback & Kindle)

Goodreads:

Coming soon to other online book retailers in late January!

Title: Soul Sisters (Book 1 in the Soul Sisters Trilogy)

Author: Janiera Eldridge

Release Day: October 18th 2012

Synopsis: Soul Sisters is an urban fantasy novel about African-American twin sisters Ani and Dana who have a rather unique secret: one sister is human while the other is a vampire. While the sisters have lived peacefully with each other for many years one fateful night will change both their lives forever. When a drunken man tries to attack Dana (the human sister) Ani (the vampire sister) protects her sister with all of her ferocious power. However, when the vampire’s leader Donovan finds out about the public display he calls for the sisters to be assassinated for disobedience. Ani and Dana now are in for the fight of their lives to protect each other as well as the lives of their dedicated friends who have joined them on their mission for survival. If Dana and Ani can make it through this time of uncertainty, Ani can take her new place as vampire queen. Soul Sisters is expected to be a trilogy; The book also features a multicultural cast of characters that brings a new edge of chic to the vampire world!

Buy Links:

Amazon (paperback&Kindle)

Goodreads:

Coming soon to other online book retailers in late January!

9016_1048197421837_1732740364_91005_7263899_n

Author BioJaniera enjoys feeding her book addiction when she not writing. She is also a book blogger at Beauty and Books where she mixes being a book nerd with keeping things chic. When not reading or writing she is freelance writing in the entertainment industry. When trying to relax she likes a huge yard sale on a Saturday morning, rainy days to read by and nacho cheese is her kryptonite. Soul Sisters is her debut novel.

Connect With the author:

Twitter: http://twitter.com/lazenbeauty

FB: http:/facebook.com/janiera.eldridge.1

Blog: http://janieraeldridge.blogspot.com

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5319319.Janiera_Eldridge

US Giveaway Only!

 <a id=”rc-f2a83a50″ class=”rafl” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f2a83a50/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a><script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js”></script>

Intl. Giveaway

<a id=”rc-f2a83a53″ class=”rafl” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f2a83a53/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a><script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js”></script>
2 thoughts on “Dark Expectations book tour and give away

  1. Thanks so much for having me on your blog! :)

Leave a Reply

