Dismantle, re-cycle and build again: IWSG, a little late

InsecureWritersSupportGroupWhat does a writer do when, nearly 90,000 words into a novel, one discovers it is the wrong story?

What to do when, having viewed the world from the corner one has painted oneself into, a solution seems not to exist?

 How, you may ask, can one not know one is writing the wrong story for so long?

Why, when I was finding it an increasing struggle to write, did I not abandon it earlier?

‘Bin it’, I hear many declaim. ‘Murder your darlings’ the mantra of the cyberspace-waves.

It happens

I tell those lucky folk who never make the mistake, when an author gets carried away with their character’s stories.It happens when a novel is written in pieces, at different times, during different circumstances.

It happens.

It is never easy to admit one is wrong. Never easy to view hundreds of hours of work as wasted. Incredibly hard to visualising beginning again.

So as I sat in my corner, viewing the paint, I sent out a plea to my writing friends – what to do?  In the writing of the plea my mind began to see what was wrong, what options there may be. Helping hands helped to step outside the painted corner so that I could view all the options more clearly. Thank you helping hands, you all know who you are:)

From that viewpoint I could see I had inadvertently written two books. They had meshed well at the beginning, but as each formed its own identity the whole began to sag, to bend and topple.

I stepped back and let it topple.I stared for days at the wreckage, mind darting bee-like hither and then of course thither. Stirred the ruin with my toe. Sighed.

I wasn’t prepared to ‘murder my darlings’. I wasn’t prepared to ‘bin it’. Was I prepared to redo hours of work. Yes. Of course.

So I painstakingly dismantled the wrecked whole.

Making neat piles for the new work,

Neat piles for recycling

(as post war generation, ‘waste not, want not’ was fed to me with my mother’s milk.)

Eventually I had rescued 40,000 words of story to work on, to start re-building, plus a series of future short stories.

Having spent the year until then writing then editing with the view to being finished in the summer, I found at the beginning of June I was having to begin again with structure, planning and research.

I am not a beginner, this was to be the fourth in the series and there are two collections of short stories as well. I took my eye off it all, and suffered the consequence.  Excuses I have, I had been very ill for months, but come on I should have realised earlier! 

The problem had been created by the hours of lying around when too ill to get out of bed, just day dreaming and writing the book in my head, allowing character’s to take over. It is frowned upon to allow this, however, it can be difficult not to.  To write convincingly about a non existent person one does need to invest some time in getting to know them, in finding out their emotions and world view, how else to know how they would react?  You must ‘know them’.  They inhabit your mind in the same way, or maybe more intensely, as your friends and family.  Maybe one has conversations with them as one drives around:) For a while they become ‘real’

They will try and take over, and one must be aware at all times and resist.  I did not and so began the downfall of The Ancestor’s Tale.

The characters had created a new viewpoint and so The Children’s Tale was born from the ruins. Then to catch up a bit. I am too old to be able to afford losing so much time:)  JuNoWrMo helped, I had a goal to reach before the end of the month, 50,000 words, thrown down, leave editing until later. Despite beginning a week late I managed. Many will have to go of course, but the new story has emerged.

It will work. I can feel it will.  I am enjoying writing it more than the old one. There is no struggle.

It may well not be finished when I wanted, but it will be.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Dismantle, re-cycle and build again: IWSG, a little late

  1. I’m sorry, Alberta. Glad you were able to salvage a good chunk of it though. Bet what the story now will be your best ever.
    And don’t worry about a day late. It happens.

  2. Anna Stewart says:

    I want to pat your back in sympathy and clap at the same time…so if in cyber-land you see a freaky lady in spasms as she waves her arms about…that is me mid-debate on which to offer you. ;-) That said, your post came at a timely moment for me. I’ve been drumming up the courage to pick up “the stack” aka my big mess of an unfinished novel that has languished for years because I wrote myself into several corners, plot holes big as the ocean, etc. I’m trying to work up the courage to do what you have done…harvest what I can and begin again. It’s really encouraging to see I’m not alone and to read of your successes in dismantling, re-imagining, etc. I’m super-impressed. :-)

    • alberta says:

      Please mind your back – sound like a receipe for a pulled muscle at the very least:) – if you love your story I think it is worth trying to salvage the good bits and reconstruct – but it was hard and despondent making – still I’m hopeful this will be a better work for it:) thanks for your comment.

  3. Shah Wharton says:

    Alberta, I fee your pain. I seem to be re-writing a few things these days. Best of luck, I have huge faith you know exactly what you’re doing and will feel brilliant once it’s done to your requirements. ‘Anything worth doing, is worth doing well’ was drilled into me. :) X

    PS: I also forgot my IWSG post, Gutted. Although my last ROW80 post would have bee extremely appropriate. Alex is going to delete my link if I forget again. *Chewing fingernails*. But honestly where does the time go?

    • alberta says:

      Glad I’m not the only one to be late – that’s what comes of having a holiday on ROW80:) I figured if I didn’t get one up I wold be struck of the list:(

      I feel quietly confident I have a better story now so let’s hope I haven’t jinxed the new endevour:)

Leave a Reply

