overdosed on Bahar spice mix:)alberta’s check in

ROW80Logocopy

The sun was shining the skies were blue but I should not have ventured out to the woods yesterday it was cold, cold, cold, brr. I ventured- lured by that deceitful sun and froze, froze, froze – I do hope the dog appreciated it, I know she enjoyed it. The coldest it’s been this end of the year so far, I think, I was not dressed for it!  Spent hours warming up while I watched the sunshine through glass – much the best way:)

I dumped the happy pills and am back writing again – Yay. Not good writing but at least fingers are engaged on keyboard and lines of communication between brain cells and hands have been opened again. After so long there is stiffness and strangeness in all the parts involved but with the help of nano’s discipline the banished muse is stretching its wings again – so alberta is feeling quietly optimistic happy bunny again-Yay

Whether I can keep it up on my own remains to be seen as the pain (which the happy pills had vanquished) is creeping its way back into my life, but if it becomes too bad at least the doctor and I have discovered the family of drugs which will help – there are some which don’t go the happy pill route from that family. Fingers crossed.

A lotta rain this week has kept me from the garden:( but the decluttering inside is still inching forward and I am almost beginning to enjoy it. My experiments in the kitchen have produced some interesting dishes – I have discovered a new spice mix – the name alone would have tempted me – Bahar – my favourite character in The Sefuty Chronicles is a Baha:) Bahar spice blend consists of a mix of Cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves,black peppercorns, ginger – uummm delicious so much so I think I kinda overdosed on a fruit tomato sauce I had made for the lamb – made my face go numb!:)

ROW80 Last week:

Writing: Yay Yay yes.

Nano has been the all since it started, as I have ten days in the middle with visitors so am trying to get ahead of myself. I have friends up for the weekend and friend from forever/editor has been given a week off and she is coming up immediately after. It will be the first time she has been here since her partner was alive so it may bring back painful memories, but I’m hoping it will be a positive rather than a negative experience. If nothing else it will give our phones a well deserved holiday for a while – three hours yesterday:)

So nano is progressing at just over the daily requirement. Feeling more positive about The Children’s Tale being finished this month bar an incredible amount of editing – it has been almost two years in the writing through much  ‘LIFE’ being thrown in its way:(

The non fiction challenge is also moving forward, section by section. Think I might well have the memoir and childhood autobiography finished by the end of the month.

Blogs: Not so good still in draft form but more of them. Book reviews haven’t made it from draft to posted yet – not good:( another chapter in self publishing on my website and the next instalment of The Storyteller’s Tale is up.

Networking: Yay not bad at all.

Reading: Yay yes – have read another couple of e-books (novellas?) read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, again, for book group and am half way through Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell at over 1006 pages that’s not bad going:)

Workshops: Yes including starting one on how to audio book oneself – so may get to grips with audacity at last – Christmas task get at least Ellen Tale on audio so my sister can at last know what I do all day long. She has been so patient with my writing and has never a clue what I write. If I ever won the lottery audio-ing them all for her would be the first thing.

So happy with week and hopefully this week will be reasonable as well. I hope everyone had a good week and all the best for the coming one:)

5 thoughts on “overdosed on Bahar spice mix:)alberta’s check in

  1. anne54 says:

    Dear Alberta,
    I don’t want to appear to be flippant, but this is the only way I can think of to contact you……I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. I know it is not your usual type of post, but I hope that you can take part, as I would love to see your answers! If you do want to, you would need to do a post that covered the following:
    1. Name the person who nominated you (ie Me!)
    2. Answer my questions which can be found on my post An Award Part 2
    http://annelawson.wordpress.com/2013/11/17/an-award-part-2/
    3. Nominate some bloggers to pass the Award onto, and let them know.
    4. Have 10 questions for them.
    I hope you enjoy it!
    Anne

  2. What a fabulous check-in Alberta! Way to go!

    I hope the drug family can manage the pain yet allow you to continue without the happy pill effects.

    That spice mix sounds wonderful. I’ll have to see if I can find it stateside :)

    • alberta says:

      if you cannot locate the spice mix over there I am sure seasoned pioneers mailorder to USA:) it’s a lovely site – not just the heat of the spices but the countries the spices are from and a few receipes as well – they are trying to build the receipe section up – I drool over them all:)

  3. Eden Mabee says:

    Alberta, I hope as well that this visit with the friend from forever is healing. Maybe it will be…. Though there are often tears involved, the Jewish observation of ‘sitting Shiva’ tends to be as much healing as painful as people sit and discuss their loved ones and memorialize their lives. May the release and recover be there for you both as well.

    And I hope the word count stays happy as well. The spice mix…. I can almost smell it from here! YUM!

    • alberta says:

      I’m hoping for that as well – hoping an atmosphere of relaxation where one can say exactly what one wants without fear of being misunderstood or judged is what my sister and I can offer here. Having been through nursing my mother through her last years, many aspects which were similar to my friends experience, also helps because she knows I can understand much of her time this past few months.

      and yes that Bahar spice mix (from seasonal pioneers) is delicious – feel hungry every time I think on it:)

Leave a Reply

