alberta’s goals for 2014:ROW80

ROW80Logocopy

Hi ya everyone – I hope everyone enjoyed the break, however you celebrated. A new year is traditionally a time of resolutions, I don’t in general approve of New Year resolutions. A way of setting oneself up for a fall, a resolution to change something should happen at any time not a once a year event. I have come around to setting goals though, and here at ROW80 we can set them, reset them, change them, abandon them as LIFE dictates – much better scheme:)

I have been spending the break doing some basic housekeeping on my networking sites, updating, exploring and deciding which to keep which to discard. It was a longer more time consuming job than I had bargained for, may be why I haven’t got to grips before now!. I have spent most of the time exploring Goodreads and decided I really wasn’t paying it enough respect – tis truly a mighty machine for authors – I only really used it as a reader. I set up an author page but never really knew what to do with it. I finally read an e book I had downloaded Goodreads for Authors by Michelle Campbell-Scott and had my eyes opened.

I also finished off one of the trailers I had been working on, The Fiddling Feline, the Flea and the Frog et al

So ready for the off now for 2014

Goals for the year 2014:

I wish to finish The Children’s Tale and get it published (editing at the moment)

I wish to finish Blue Moon and get it published (half written)

I want to turn my memoir and autobiography into a book (personal, not publishing)

So the beginning of the year I will be concentrating on these, using NaEdNoMo to aid me.

I am hoping to enter the A-Z blog challenge again this year, so must begin writing blogs for it as I go along.

In May as a break from the above I hope to join the write a story a day challenge, working on stories for Companion Tales.

In June I hope to join JuNoWrMo and finish  Menko,in 1st draft

Early summer I hope The Children’s Tale can go off to publishers

and by

Late summer the same for Blue Moon.

November of course, NaNo where as a rebel I will be working on the Companion Tales or Menko

I also want to keep my blogs going more regularly.

Catch up on my book trailers.

Network more.

If I can do this I will be a long way to finishing what I have started and catch up with all the delays. Well one can dream can’t one:)

Personal Goals: well, having had a definite diagnosis of arthritis in my knees plus they now think I have ISB, to go with the heart failure (am falling apart at the seams!:) my obvious goal has to be fight and beat the b*****s. Getting fit is the order of the day. So am setting one main goal, I have always enjoyed dancing of sorts (not the best:) and have missed it these last few years so am aiming at being fit enough to start back at line dancing by the autumn.

I will not go until I can dance at least half the session, money wise it makes no sense but I guess, honestly, more than that, mortification stops me.

One goal but all the rest will improve under this; eating, weight, depression,gardening, housework etc.

Will post weekly goals as I go along, these are my overall goals for the whole year.

17 thoughts on “alberta’s goals for 2014:ROW80

  1. kathils says:

    I’m going to have to look up that Goodreads book. I hardly pay it any attention at all.

    • alberta says:

      I never took the trouble but I’m glad I read the book – it takes time to set everything up but I’m pleased I have – remains to be seen how effective it will be:)

  2. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Wow Alberta, you’ve got the whole box and dice going here. Good for you! I hope you dance your way to good health and enjoy a totally awesome year. I don’t know what I’d do without you!

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I’ve been looking into NaEdNoMo and JuNoWriMo as well. Have you done these before?

    Best wishes with your goals! You’ve got some great ones for 2014. I also need to look into Goodreads when I pub this year. Have a fabulous round!!!

    • alberta says:

      yes the last couple of years I have done both – the NaEdNoMo is 50 hours in the month JuNo is 50,000 words like NaNo however it doesn’t have to be a new story from scratch – and June is slightly easier to fit in than November:) I do find the clocking in each day helps concentrate the mind with all three of them – neither seem to be so not sure why:)

      Get onto goodreads now – everyone seems to agree you need to have a presence before pub. as a reader ad a commentator – to attract the readers rather than other writers, lots of groups, every genre you can think of. You can find potential audience for your book , join the groups discuss current authors in your genre, comment get to be known then tell them about your book (no spamming which I know you don’t) also lots of groups for authors and self help for pub/marketing etc – really I had no idea how diverse a site it was:)

      all the best:)

  4. Eden says:

    I truly hope that I get a chance to fly over The Pond and visit so we can dance together, Alberta. Though… I confess a few regrets that you won’t be making your memoir public, I understand. Much love and cheering for the upcoming Round.

    • alberta says:

      My flying days are over I’m afraid, will have to be a virtual dance:) the memoirs are based on blog posts over the years – as they give snapshots of my life and thoughts, to give the future some depth – the autobiography is a chronological series of events – two different books. The memoir isn’t personal as such – it’s all out there on cyberspace – I just didn’t think my blogs would interest the public!

      • Eden says:

        I understand you won’t be up to much flying, but if we can get things together, we’re really hoping to return to England again (the hubby and I spent a lot of time in the Midlands for work once and we’re really hoping to get back to some of the places we didn’t get to spend enough time at). Maybe I’ll be able to come to you…

        As for the memoir… ah.. I wasn’t sure and didn’t want to presume. Personally, I find many of your tales fascinating reflections of change (and how things sometimes DON’T change) over time.

      • alberta says:

        that would be so nice if you did come over:) as for memoir if you want a copy that’s fine with me – maybe you could be a beta reader and tell me if its fit for the public!!

      • Eden says:

        I’ll definitely let you know if we’re making those sorts of plans ahead of time, Alberta. And thank you. If you want, I could do that.

  5. Kathy says:

    Good luck with your goals! I first heard about that A-to-Z challenge last night and it sounds like a lot of fun.

    • alberta says:

      Oh it is – it is but unless you do blog every day for 26 days – it is quite hard work – which is why I try and get most of the posts written before April1st:) – there are some amazing bloggers out there and this month is a good chance to find some of them – come and join in the fun:)

  6. alberta says:

    Yay indeed – I wandered over to see how crazy you were – think you have more than moi but hey we can cheer each other on – thanks for the luck:)

  7. Yay! Someone with as many projects going as I have! Hehe. :) It’ll be fun to watch you knock them out as the year goes on. Best of luck this round!

Leave a Reply

