machines, orange hair and scary monday

 

ROW80Logocopy

It is interesting when stuff goes wrong on the computer and cyberspace.

This week has been interesting.

Ignore the old curse ‘may you live in interesting times’, nothing major happened. My albertareads blog went haywire. Putting widgets into footer areas which didn’t exist! And leaving a bar advertising the theme across the top of the blog. The first I fixed eventually after applying some diminishing brain cells and logic to the problem. But the theme advert I had no way of working out.

Help.
I called the forum.
Please Help me.
They did splendidly.

They were all sure it was wrong code – I never touch the code I told them, I did not know how to check it.

Please Help.
They did.
It was two bits of stray code they put it right.
I am smiling again.

Before that happened my computer presented a totally blank screen. Nothing. Zilch. Switch on /off. Tightened connections. Switched of  at main. Walked away. Left the machine.

Phoned computer people, after many different calls I was told to read out the serial number.
Where?
Underneath machine.

Thought I needed to unscrew, searched for screw driver small enough to do, then when actually managed it he told me shouldn’t have done that. So had to screw back in.! Finding battery was easy actually. Thought one of clasps was looser than other – after he had vanished into a broken connection I got to thinking about loose catches. Turned machine on again & voila, working just fine, battery was loose was all.

Not the Internet though, had to wait two more days before that decided to come back to me.

Did I tell you have changed my hair from turquoise and pink to orange and copper!:)

hair2 still remains of blue in there will get brighter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have news, big news for me anyway. Tomorrow – Monday 9th I am going to a local reading group to discuss Ellen’s Tale with them.

Scary Monday!

I hate talking in public with the problem I have with getting words in the wrong order, and not being able to elucidate what I am thinking, but they assure me it wont be like a ‘talk’, just sitting around chatting. I think I can manage that- hope anyway. I do know two of them so that will help. Wish me luck please:)

ROW80 THIS WEEK

 I wanted to start serious editing this month and it is amazing what can be done if no access to Internet is available:) However the backlog of commenting, emails etc that can accumulate in that short time is amazing.I have been trying to create an order to The Children’s Tale it has been written in bits over three years, through illness and depression, has changed it’s format twice and I have decided to pull it back to the format the others were written in, which will mean changing tenses all the way through!

WRITING:

I have been editing and on The Children’s Tale I clocked up just over 8,000 words of 2nd revision stage. So spelling, repeated words, basic punctuation, tenses and order has been established. Needs polishing next time round
On my memoirs (based on blogging) I have done my final edits on one section (approx 13,000) running spell check through again, checking for punctuation and missing words. Needs my friend from forever/editor’s tender touch now:)

Blogging:

Missed out a bit this week as I wasn’t up on cyberspace to post them. I sang from ballroom to choir and quoted Chesterton and Mused on Monday all the others remained in my Scrivener file down here
Researching: Been working hard on A-Z challenge in April and have the theme, plus 37 subjects could use. Now to weed out some and then try and match them to the alphabet.

Networking: managed to catch up on stuff I must do and am beginning to comment where I don’t have too.

Others: Still trying to build up numbers on my new Twitter http://twitter.com @al_berta_ross if any would like to follow me on that one as well would be most grateful:)

Reading: after my readathon last month I took time out to read three urban fantasies for light relief. Had to re-read Ellen’s Tale again for tomorrow.

Life: Haven’t had much time for self this week, but managed another two scrumbles, didn’t really like my last journal page so am practicing re-cycling and painted it all over- very liberating. Got out twice but been too cold for me.

Hope everyone had a trouble free week and all the best for this coming one:)

7 thoughts on “machines, orange hair and scary monday

  1. alberta says:

    can manage a couple of days breakdown – start to wonder then what to do what to do!! totally useless about mechanics of the thing:)

  2. shanjeniah says:

    Alberta! It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve visited you – how did that happen?!

    I LOVE your new hair! =D I’m getting a turquoise streak or two within the next few days…I don’t want to cover up all this pretty silver I’m getting as I grow wiser (or at least pretend I am!).

    It’s been cold here, and the snow has come in long-lasting storms. We’re clear today, but Saturday-Monday gave us maybe another foot. In a week, though, we’ll be heading to Oregon to spend some time with Jim’s family. I hear it’s early spring there, and since the temperature here is going to be -15F later this week….well, three out of four Burtons can use the break from winter (Annalise, ever our personal Force of Nature, loves the snow!).

    I’ll look you up on Twitter a bit later. I’m still trying to wrap my extremely wordy brain around it – maybe you can be my tour guide!

    I’m too late to wish you luck on time, so I’ll do it retroactively here, and say that I hope all went well beyond your wildest imaginings.

    It’s always lovely to see you. I need to make more of a point of singing by to see what adventures you’re up to, across the waters. <3

    • alberta says:

      enjoy your break from the cold – I really shouldn’t complain about the cold here should I:) approve of your hair colour choice – will tell more on update next Sunday but yes thank you the talk went well much better than I was dreading – another step outside my comfort zone achieved:)

  3. Widdershins says:

    Congratulations on surviving your compu-geddion! :)

Leave a comment