Fo whom the bell tolls: Writer’s Quote Wednesday

 

 

writers-quote-wed-2015_thumb1

I didn’t discover Donne until I was grown up, maybe my early 20s. Some of his poetry I like very much and some – well I can take or leave, not being a very romantic person:) I had heard this quote for ever,well  maybe not for ever but it was one that my Grannies liked and Dad would often repeat, especially if I was being a little hasty in my judgments of dead folk!!

 

I was a teenager as well, once upon a time! Bratty and unpleasant:)

It’s part of my earlier quote of ‘no man is an island’. An end result if you like of being involved in others, in melding into humanity and the world.

Maybe it was the war and it’s millions dead, which made the significant adults in my life so peaceful and concerned with getting along with each other, or maybe they had always been so.Whatever, they shaped my course in life and although sometimes people groan at yet another outing of these words, they still hold truth within them.

tolls for thee

This quote is part of Silver Threading’s  Writer’s Quote series. Writer’s who have helped inspire my writing.

To write one must engage with the world around. Imagination is not the everything, imagination needs feeding with experience and observation. Life is what feeds writers.

One thought on “Fo whom the bell tolls: Writer’s Quote Wednesday

  1. You are so right Alberta. It is our experiences heart and soul that go into our writing… even when they come from our imagination. <3

Leave a Reply

