A Thousand Glorious Books: Writers Quote Wednesday

writers-quote-wed-2015_thumb1

 

Although this is not a quote about writing per se, reading and writing are tied so closely together I feel I can use the quote for both.  I feel the same way about writing, as I do about reading Having come to creating stories myself so late in life, I know not all those stories inside me will  come to fruition.  No-one will know the characters, the lives except me.So I offer this one for the writers and readers amongst you all.

As to books, these words are a permanent sadness for me, there are so many books I wish to read still and new ones coming out all the time. I once calculated that if I read 3 books a week for ten years I would not only still have a life, for eating, writing, etc I could consume 1,560 books. Of course that does not allow for large books 600+ pages, difficult books or illness, disaster and fatigue. It also doesn’t necessarily mean that the 1,560 would all be glorious:)

I picked 10 years because of my age, how long before I have to cut back on reading. How long before I occupy my hole in the ground. Although I am perfectly able to read three, or even more, books in a week, even with all the other stuff going on in my life, some weeks I do not want/or am able to.

So I am destined to always wonder what books I am going to miss out on. George Gissing obviously felt the same , as I am sure do all bookworms. I do not wish to be immobilized, I enjoy my life even when it tires me out and I know for a fact that being immobilized does not necessarily enable one to read more. Also reading good books can be tiring, the emotions invested in characters are, as if ones friends in real life were suffering catastrophe and inviting you to help.

Nope, along with everything else I will miss out on; state of the world, friends, life in general, chit chat etc, I will have to forgo the pleasure of reading everything I wish to read. Shame!

thousand books

This quote is part of Silver Threading’s  Writer’s Quote series. Writer’s who have helped inspire my writing.

To write one must engage with the world around. Imagination is not the everything, imagination needs feeding with experience and observation. Life is what feeds writers.

2 thoughts on “A Thousand Glorious Books: Writers Quote Wednesday

  1. alberta says:

    :) as I say all bookworms have this problem, and people keep on writing them for goodness sake! no way we can keep up:)

  2. Alberta, what a great quote! This would be the worst thing in the world that could happen to me! <3

Leave a Reply

