Endings always give me trouble:) Writers Quote Wednesday

writers-quote-wed-2015_thumb1

Of course we writers are never satisfied. The beginning is hard, the middle might get flabby and the ending can be a nightmare. You’d think writing a book would be easier after all these centuries.

My first novel, that made it to print, began as a short story. It was my lack of control over the characters that led the story being the first of a four part epic. They wouldn’t stay short. They developed complex characters, developed an ongoing tale, hinted at violent back stories.

I am approaching the end of my current work in process. It has been a long haul due to many problems along the way. However, I can see the work coming to a conclusion. What conclusion I am still not 100% sure because nothing about this book has gone to plan.

Originally it was a story about ancestors, but the children took over. It became their story. Okay, I thought, I can see the merit in that, but my idea of how the tale should proceed was not theirs. As with that first book the characters took over.

The trouble is one gets attached to these imaginary people, they become real, they talk to you, one listens and understands their concerns and points of view. Okay a little of that is necessary, one must believe in them after all, but

Who is boss?
Who should be boss?
The two answers are not always the same!

ends

 

This quote is part of Silver Threading’s  Writer’s Quote series. Writer’s who have helped inspire my writing.

To write one must engage with the world around. Imagination is not the everything, imagination needs feeding with experience and observation. Life is what feeds writers.

5 thoughts on “Endings always give me trouble:) Writers Quote Wednesday

  1. Widdershins says:

    Getting to ‘The End’ is always harder the closer you get to it! :)

  2. I agree with you about the characters Alberta. We create them so you would think we could make them behave. I wrote my ending before I wrote the rest of my book. That seems to work for me and gives me a goal to write towards. Thanks for the lovely quote. Glad you are back! <3

    • alberta says:

      That is an idea worth considering – although the original idea of the ancestors had been plotted right to the end in my head before those drated children took over:)

Leave a Reply

