the time to read is anytime: Writer’s Quote Wednesday

time to read 2

This quote has always suited me.

I’m not sure how old I was when I learnt to read. I know I could when I went to school at five because on my first day there I got to stand in a corner for being able to do so.

IT WAS NOT ALLOWED TO READ BEFORE SCHOOL!!

I was told and so had to go through months of boredom as the others in my class who had not the skill stuttered their way through words. (I am talking about the early 1950s)
Books and reading has been my constant daily fix and delight since before memory. There were never enough words to read, never enough places to read them. On buses,in trains, in bed, at mealtimes, in the garden, up a tree, hidden in bushes or behind curtains while parties raged around me:) on sofas, benches in the playground.

I never knew when I would be able to read so I bought my wardrobe to accommodate my love, cardigans had paper book size pockets – handbags had to have room for a book (even evening bags – after all who knew when a date would turn out to be dull:) when I began to travel the world, books came with me, most of any luggage which accompanied me would be full of books – e-books would have given my shoulders so much relief! I spent many happy hours sitting on suitcases and rucksacks reading, Have read on the Equator and the arctic circle. In deserts and beside oceans.

Anytime and everywhere all I need is something to read.

The four years I lost my reading were the loneliest

This quote is part of Silver Threading’s  Writer’s Quote series. Writer’s who have helped inspire my writing and my life. Pop over and follow other quotes there are many inspiring posts

 

8 thoughts on “the time to read is anytime: Writer’s Quote Wednesday

  1. Great quote! It seems ironic that a child would get punished for reading in a school. Reading tablets have helped a lot of backs. ;)

  2. I agree, Alberta. Books have been my best friends for years. I would be lost without them. Excellent quote! Loved it! <3

  3. jazzytower says:

    As I read this and got to where you were lugging your books in suitcases I thought “the best in venting for you would have been a Kindle” . Then you mentioned it. LoL! A good post:)

    • alberta says:

      Yeah brilliant invention, however came a little late for my wandering:( those days were well and truly over when I bought an e reader, most be really good for the travel:)I have taken it for the odd weekends away, use mainly for sore wrists. thanks for the thumbs up:)

Leave a Reply

