Any reading more easy : Writer’s Quote Wednesday

catalogue

 

I do not know any reading more easy more fascinating, more delightful than catalogue
Anatole France 1844-1924

Now this a person after my own heart:)

I am an avid reader. Always and forever I hope. That is not necessarily a reader of books. We have all I am sure practised our early reading skills on food packets:) I have a passion for magazines, from children’s comics through women’s magazines to gardening, science, geographical and philosophical journals as I progressed through life.

As I said I am a reader.

A fairly early delight of mine, when I had pocket money and could walk to the shops to buy my own stationary, were brochures and catalogues.

Many reasons.

Curiosity, a wish to have post sent to me, a feeling of being grown up, oh all kinds of reasons. I started with holiday brochures and small catalogues. Filled with exciting destinations, not so many foreign places at the beginning but I wasn’t fussy I had a desire to travel and these sometimes colourful packets of promise fed this desire into a passion. When colour came in well who wouldn’t have been charmed by the sight of foreign climes in sunny blues and white palaces. I would plot my future routes, dream of intrepid exploring. The books I read gave me the fiction these I believed showed me the truth of the fiction.

Then there were those massive catalogues of everything, clothes, furniture, toys and on and on. I could spend hours pouring over the pictures reading the descriptions. I planned my future homes, clothed my future family, myself sometimes. I created splendid meals in shiny pans.

Then book catalogues were produced, I had to have those, even if they were full of books I would never be able to afford or indeed understand if I read them. I could dream of being an extremely intelligent and erudite adult amazing everyone with my intellect.

Ah, the dreams of my childhood.
Not just childhood.

I found educational courses to learn newness from.Every new skill I mastered from the courses and workshops there was, of course, the need for more catalogues to order supplies from.Then I found auction house brochures – wonderful.  When I won the lottery, I thought:)

You understand I didn’t need to win the lottery, didn’t need to possess these things. it was the dreams and plans that were the delight.

 I scoured the backs of magazines and journals for the addresses to write to. I still do. I am still a sucker for them.

A hot cuppa, a comfy chair and a new catalogue, well, there’s a pleasant restful half an hour or so for moi.

These days I plan where to put new plants in the garden, roses or agapanthus can I afford both? Discount books or leather clad, can I afford either!? Do I need a new mixer – nah. Do I need that new shiny whatever?

I still receive endless catalogues and brochures. Soon, very soon they will be all about aids for living, I will be reading about wheelchairs and angled cutlery. It won’t matter each stage of life can entertain me:)

This quote is part of Silver Threading’s  Writer’s Quote series. Writer’s who have helped inspire my writing and my life. Pop over and follow other quotes there are many inspiring posts

 

4 thoughts on “Any reading more easy : Writer’s Quote Wednesday

  1. cassmob says:

    I too like what other call “junk mail”…full of exciting possibilities. And yes, magazines are full of similar opportunities…reading, the gateway to discoveries.

  2. alberta says:

    yeah life was so full of exciting possibilities way back in the day:)

  3. jazzytower says:

    Your imagination and daydreams can wander far reading a catalogue:) I couldn’t help but laugh when you mentioned writing to places in the backs of magazines . I used to do that, Lol! Thanks for the flash back :)

Leave a Reply

