Boo’s Bad Day by Penny Lockwood: Red Carpet Day

Boo’s Bad Day

by

Penny Lockwood

Boos Bad Day - cover resized

Boo is a very bored kitten. When Timmy and his mom return home, Boo sneaks out of the house.  Boo is frightened by the noises of the big world outside of the safety of his warm home.  When Timmy coaxes Boo back into the house, Boo realizes some places are safe and some are not.

Alberta:  I have read this book  and have to say it is quite enchanting, from the storyline to the delightful illustrations.

Boo a bored small kitten who longs to explore the great outdoors.  The story line is just right for children being read too and also for those who are spelling out books for themselves.  The illustrations are beautiful, very simple, and full of colour, movement and expression.

Today I am welcoming not just Boo but also author Penny Lockwood onto

THE RED CARPET

Red carpet at night.

Alberta:   I am so pleased to welcome you on the Red Carpet today, Penny.  I do hope your tour is progressing well.   Now Boo’s Bad Day. Poor Boo has an amazingly scary and exciting time of it when he slips out of the house, doesn’t he? I can see children shuddering in sympathy. It has been a while since I have had to read to a small child but I don’t believe they have changed too much.

 Penny:  Alberta, thanks for hosting me and the lovely review.  At the end of the tour, I will pick out one commenter’s name and send an autographed copy of Boo’s Bad Day to a United States address only.  If the name I pick is someone who lives outside the U.S., I will send a PDF copy of the book.  So remember, readers, be sure to leave contact information when you comment!

 If your readers missed yesterday’s post, they can catch up at http://mgddasef.blogspot.com/. Tomorrow, I’ll be visiting with http://www.consciousdiscussions.blogspot.com/.

 Alberta: Now for the cross examination:): What inspired you to write this tale?

Author Photo Pen smiling copyPenny: Many years ago, we had a black kitten named Boo.  At that time, we allowed our cats to go in and out of the house.  Even though Boo was a teenager, he happily followed the adult cats outside.  One winter, during an ice storm, Boo went out, but he didn’t come back. We called him in the evening, but when he didn’t come, we assumed he was hiding in a barn in the neighborhood.  When he still didn’t return the next day, we went searching and located him by his cries, stranded in a huge fir tree.  My husband got out his 50-foot ladder but couldn’t reach him.  We tried calling the fire department, but they told us they no longer rescued cats from trees.  Poor Boo’s cries were getting weaker and weaker, and it was freezing cold.  We ultimately called a friend, taller than my husband, who worked construction on multi-story buildings.  By climbing to the top of the ladder and stretching, he reached Boo, grabbed him, and got him down.  Poor little Boo spent the next week curled in front of our woodstove with no desire to go outside.

 My grandchildren are of an age to enjoy picture books, and when I wanted a new  writing project, Boo’s story came to mind.  I thought it would be a perfect tale for little people.

 Alberta:  Is it intended to be just a tale to amuse or did you intend it to serve as any kind of lesson?

Penny:I wrote it more for entertainment, but there are definitely lessons to be learned and things parents and teachers can speak to their kids about.

      If you had a pet, what do you need to do to take care of it?

      Why would you need to do more for your pet than just give it a hug once in a while?

.      What kinds of dangers are there on a busy street?

      Why shouldn’t you cross the street by yourself?

      Why do you think a big truck or snowplow wouldn’t be able to see you if you were outside by yourself?

                    What do you think is a safe place?

      What do you think is an unsafe place?

      What do you think could happen if Timmy couldn’t get Boo out of the tree?

      Have you ever had a pet sneak out of the house?  What happened?

  What do you think makes a pet feel safe?

 Alberta: There is a great deal to think about, especially if contemplating having a pet , but there  are I agree lessons for the child to absorb as well.

The illustrations are as I said delightful, how closely did you work with Deborah  Johnson with them?

Penny: Thank you.  I love the illustrations, too, and I believe Deborah must have cats in her life to be able to catch their expressions so well.  I actually did not work with Deborah and only saw the illustrations when they were completed, and the final galley proof was sent to me.  This is my publishing house’s rule.  I believe this is similar for other houses as well.

Alberta: You write in other genres as well. I’m wondering how different/difficult you found the process of writing for such a young age group?

Penny: This was my first picture book, however, I’ve had the opportunity to work as a submissions editor and read a lot of books for young children.  I’ve learned to spot what makes a good manuscript and what makes one mediocre.  I’ve also had many years of reading stories to my children and now my grandchildren. I didn’t find the process particularly difficult, but it was different.  With a picture book, an author is limited to a very few words, yet must create obstacles, develop a character, and have a beginning, a middle, and an end.  It can be a challenge!

 Alberta:  Do you have a preferred genre to write in?

Penny:I enjoy variety in my writing and have penned romance, science fiction, fantasy, horror, contemporary children’s, paranormal children’s, and non-fiction.  I think my favorite, though, would be fantasy, since this is the genre I most enjoy reading for pleasure.

 Alberta:   When not writing what do you most enjoy doing for relaxation?

Penny: For relaxation, I enjoy a number of things including gardening, playing with my grandchildren and pets, reading, crocheting, walking, spending time with family and friends, and attending water aerobics classes.

 Alberta:   Do you enjoy music? If yes, what kind and do you use music to aid your writing?

Penny: I enjoy classic rock, but I don’t like to have distractions when I’m writing, so I don’t listen to anything as I work.  I do enjoy writing outside, though, and the music of the birds in the trees is very soothing.

 Alberta:   Do you have favourite author/authors?

Penny:There are so many it’s hard to choose favorites, but I do enjoy Tolkien, Frank Herbert, Terry Brooks, George R. R. Martin, Kim Harrison, Devon Monk, and Jim Butcher.

 BOO’S BAD DAY

Boos Bad Day - cover resized

By Penny Lockwood

 Boo sneaks out of the house and discovers that freedom by himself can be scary.

Picture book for children aged 18 months to 6 years

Published by 4RV Publishing

ISBN# 13: 978-0-9852661-5-8

4RV – http://www.4rvpublishingcatalog.com/penny-lockwood.php

$8.99 includes s/h

Look inside at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Boos-Bad-Day-Penny-Lockwood/dp/0985266155/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

6 thoughts on “Boo’s Bad Day by Penny Lockwood: Red Carpet Day

  1. Congratulations to Susan York Meyers! She’s the winner of an autographed copy of Boo’s Bad Day.

  2. Susan says:

    A great way to entertain while teaching kids pet responsibility:-)

    • alberta says:

      It is indeed – although I suspect parents will still end up doing the harder/messier parts of care of pets:) But yes children need to appreciate pets and of course many of those lessons apply to the young child – street safety – wandering away from home unsupervised etc. – it is a great little book and the illustrations spot on:)

    • Hi Susan, thanks for taking the time to comment. It’s amazing how responsible little people can be when it comes to caring for their pets. Parents need only get them interested at an early age.

  3. Hi Alberta, thank you for hosting me today and for taking the time to review Boo.

Leave a Reply

